

NEW YORK STATE ASSEMBLY

822 LEGISLATIVE OFFICE BUILDING, ALBANY, NY 12248 TEL: 518-455-4941 FAX: 518-455-5939

242 WEST 27TH STREET, NEW YORK, NY 10001 TEL: 212-807-7900 FAX: 212-243-2035

E-MAIL: GOTTFRR@ASSEMBLY.STATE.NY.US

COMMITTEES:

RULES

HEALTH

HIGHER EDUCATION

MAIORITY STEERING

CHAIR
MANHATTAN DELEGATION

August 4, 2011

The Honorable Steven Chu Secretary of Energy 1000 Independence Ave., SW Washington, DC 20585

Dear Mr. Secretary:

We are writing to ask you to address the lack of balance and local representation on the Natural Gas Subcommittee of the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board. Recently, you asked this subcommittee to issue recommendations to make hydraulic fracturing safer.

As New York State elected officials, we are concerned about natural gas drilling and hydraulic fracturing in our state's portion of the Marcellus Shale. New York has had a de facto moratorium on drilling and fracturing in the Marcellus Shale since 2008, a necessary precaution to prevent contamination of water supplies and other environmental harm while we study the effects of shale gas drilling.

So far, your panel has excluded citizens from New York and other regions affected by fracking. Those whose way of life is at stake deserve a seat at the table where decisions are made. We insist that you add people from affected communities to the panel.

In addition, six of the seven subcommittee members, including panel chair John Deutch, have current financial ties to the natural gas and oil industry. Their inherent conflicts of interest cannot help but undermine the panel's credibility to study the potential threat of fracking. Mr. Deutch should step down, and you should name an independent panel chair and balance the committee with other independent experts.

Hydraulic fracturing is a critical issue for our water and our health. New Yorkers and all Americans deserve a panel that is impartial and gives ordinary people a voice.

Thank you for your consideration. We look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Assembly Member Richard N. Gottfried Chair, Committee on Health District 75

Senator Liz Krueger Ranking Member, Senate Finance Committee District 26

Senator Thomas K. Duane Assembly Member Rhoda S. Jacobs **Assistant Speaker** Assistant Minority Leader for Floor Operations District 42 District 29 Assembly Member Peter M. Rivera Senator Bill Perkins Speaker Pro Tempore Deputy Minority Whip District 30 District 76 Assembly Member N. Nick Perry Senator Velmanette Montgomery Deputy Majority Leader **Assistant Minority Whip** District 58 District 18 Senator Eric L. Adams Assembly Member Barbara M. Clark Deputy Majority Whip District 20 District 33 Senator Tony Avella District 11 Assembly Member William Colton Chair, Majority Conference District 47 Senator David Carlucci District 38 Assembly Member Clifford Crouch Chair, Minority Conference Senator Suzi Oppenheimer District 107 District 37 Assembly Member Ellen Jaffee Assembly Member Steven Cymbrowitz Secretary, Majority Conference District 45 District 95 Assembly Member Steve Englebright Assembly Member Barbara Lifton District 4 Chair, Majority Steering Committee District 125 Assembly Member Sandra R. Galef District 90 Assembly Member Alan Maisel Chair, Majority House Operations Assembly Member Deborah J. Glick District 59 District 66 Assembly Member Thomas J. Abinanti Assembly Member George S. Latimer District 92 District 91 Assembly Member Edward C. Braunstein Assembly Member Joseph R. Lentol District 26 District 50 Assembly Member Marcos A. Crespo Assembly Member William B. Magnarelli

District 120

District 85

Assembly Member Joan L. Millman Council Member Darius Pridgen Ellicott District, City of Buffalo District 52 Assembly Member Michael A. Montesano Martha Robertson Chair, Tompkins County Legislature District 15 District 13 Assembly Member Felix W. Ortiz District 51 Dooley Kiefer Vice Chair, Tompkins County Legislature Assembly Member Amy R. Paulin District 10 District 88 Will Burbank Assembly Member Annie Rabbit Tompkins County Legislature District 97 District 12 Assembly Member Linda B. Rosenthal Carol I. Chock District 67 Tompkins County Legislature District 3 Assembly Member Addie J. Russell District 118 James P. Dennis Tompkins County Legislature Assembly Member Aravella Simotas District 15 District 36 Pamela Mackesey Assembly Member Robert K. Sweeney Tompkins County Legislature District 1 District 11 Leslyn McBean-Clairborne Assembly Member Claudia Tenney District 115 Tompkins County Legislature District 2 Assembly Member Fred W. Thiele, Jr. District 2 Frank P. Proto Tompkins County Legislature Council Member James F. Gennaro District 7 District 29, City of New York Pat L. Prvor Tompkins County Legislature Council President David A. Franczyk Filmore District, City of Buffalo District 6 Thomas C. Buckel, Jr. Council Member Joseph Golombek, Jr. North District, City of Buffalo Onondaga County Legislature District 7 Council Member Michael J. LoCurto Delaware District, City of Buffalo Linda R. Ervin

Onondaga County Legislature

District 19

William T. Kinne Onondaga County Legislaure District 15

Councilman Svante Myrick Fourth Ward, City of Ithaca

Supervisor Richard G. Driscoll Town of Newfield