August 10, 2011

The Honorable Steven Chu, PhD Secretary of Energy 1000 Independence Ave., SW Washington, DC 20585

Dear Mr. Secretary:

As scientists from 22 universities and institutions in 13 states, we are writing to express our concern over the lack of impartiality on the Natural Gas Subcommittee of the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board that is studying ways to make hydraulic fracturing safer. We urge you to modify the panel's membership so that the panel can make recommendations on hydraulic fracturing that are unbiased and scientifically sound.

In our work, we believe in reducing individual biases in evaluating the merits of scientific or technological ideas. The current panel does not meet this standard. Six of the seven members have current financial ties to the natural gas and oil industry. These include: chairman John Deutch, Stephen Holditch, Kathleen McGinty, Susan Tierney, Daniel Yergin and Mark Zoback. These conflicts of interest make it appear that the subcommittee is designed to serve industry at taxpayer expense rather than serving President Obama and the public with credible advice.

The committee appears to be performing advocacy-based science and seems to have already concluded that hydraulic fracturing is safe. We believe that the best science should be done first to determine whether increased unconventional natural gas production is sufficiently safe – from the individual water well to climate impact – and that policy should follow.

Five months before you appointed your subcommittee, the Environmental Protection Agency appointed a Science Advisory Board to examine similar issues. To reduce financial influences, the agency instituted a number of procedures, including an evaluation of the candidates' financial ties. As a result, the panel is perceived as impartial. We would like to see similar standards for the Energy Department's Natural Gas Subcommittee.

At a minimum, we ask that John Deutch step down from the subcommittee and that you replace him with a person with no financial ties to the natural gas and oil industry. We also request that you balance the panel with other independent members and that in its evaluation the panel most heavily weight relevant peer-reviewed sources.

Thank you for your consideration. We look forward to your response.

Sincerely,

Ronald Amundson, PhD Professor of Pedology Chair, Division of Ecosystem Sciences University of California at Berkeley Berkeley, CA

Mary Booth, PhD Senior Scientist Partnership for Policy Integrity Pelham, MA

Paul D. Brooks, PhD Associate Professor, Hydrology and Water Resources University of Arizona Tucson, AZ

Lynn Carroll, PhD Senior Scientist TEDX, The Endocrine Disruption Exchange Paonia, CO

Owen W. Duckworth, PhD Assistant Professor of Soil Science North Carolina State University Raleigh, NC

Joseph H. Guth, PhD, JD Research Scientist, Berkeley Center for Green Chemistry Center for Occupational and Environmental Health, School of Public Health University of California at Berkeley Berkeley, CA

Robert W. Howarth, PhD David R. Atkinson Professor of Ecology and Environmental Biology Cornell University Ithaca, NY

Anthony R. Ingraffea, PhD Dwight C. Baum Professor of Engineering Cornell University Ithaca, NY Markus Kleber, PhD Assistant Professor, Soil and Environmental Geochemistry Oregon State University Corvallis, OR

Carol F. Kwiatkowski, PhD Executive Director TEDX, The Endocrine Disruption Exchange Paonia, CO

James D. Kubicki, PhD Assistant Professor of Geochemistry Penn State University Park, PA

Karen B. Mulloy, DO, MSCH Associate Professor of Environmental and Occupational Health Colorado School of Public Health University of Colorado Aurora, CO

Elisabeth Nadin, PhD Assistant Professor, Geology & Geophysics University of Alaska Fairbanks Fairbanks, AK

Lee S. Newman, MD, MA, FCCP FACOEM Professor of Environmental and Occupational Health Colorado School of Public Health University of Colorado Aurora, CO

Jennifer Pett-Ridge, PhD Staff Scientist, Chemical Sciences Division Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory Livermore, CA

Matthew Polizzotto, PhD Assistant Professor of Soil Science North Carolina State University Raleigh, NC Ana I. Prados, PhD Research Assistant Professor Joint Center for Earth Systems Technology University of Maryland Baltimore County Baltimore, MD

Iwona Sakrejda, PhD
Technology Integration Group
National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Berkeley, CA

Ted Schettler, MD, MPH Science Director Science and Environmental Health Network Ann Arbor, MI

Stanley R. Scobie, PhD Sustainable Energy Analyst and Founding Board Member PSE, Physicians, Scientists, and Engineers for safe healthy energy Binghamton, NY

Kate M. Scow, PhD Professor of Soil Science and Soil Microbial Ecology University of California at Davis Davis, CA

Leigh A. Stearns, PhD Assistant Professor, Geology University of Kansas Lawrence, KS

Sandra Steingraber, PhD Distinguished Scholar in Residence, Environmental Studies Ithaca College Ithaca, NY

Daniel Teitelbaum, MD Adjunct Professor, Environmental Science & Engineering Colorado School of Mines Golden, CO Christopher Uhl, PhD Professor of Biology Penn State University Park, PA

Frederick S. vom Saal, PhD Curators' Professor, Biological Sciences University of Missouri Columbia, MO

Albert Wurth, PhD Associate Professor of Political Science Lehigh University Bethlehem, PA

Benjamin Zaitchik, PhD Assistant Professor, Earth and Planetary Sciences Johns Hopkins University Baltimore, MD